About Us

Incorporated in 1968 as the Raymore Township Fire Protection District, South Metro Fire District is a political subdivision of the State of Missouri, governed by an elected five-member Board of Directors. 

The Fire District covers over 52 square miles, including the cities of Raymore and Lake Winnebago and unincorporated parts of Cass County, and provides fire protection and advanced life support services to its citizens.  With 53 full-time employees, the District is a center for fire education and training, as well as emergency medical education and training.


Meet our administrative staff, which includes eight full-time personnel.

  • Chief Lee Stevens
  • Deputy Chief Eric Smith
  • Fire Marshal Randy Powers
  • Division Chief Victor Adkins
  • Accounts Manager Stephanie Hicks
  • Human Resources Manager Rachel Stevens
  • Training Chief John King
  • Services Chief Todd Cipolla

Fire District Board

  • Chairman Sean Dawson
  • Director Mike VanAken
  • Director Paul O’Brien
  • Director Wayne Emery
  • Director Ron Burton

The Fire District Board is made up of five elected members, with the Chief of the Department and Department Office Manager as advisors.

*The Fire District Board meets on the third Thursday of every month at 8:30 am. Agendas are posted for the public at our headquarters.